What’s Normal?


“I told myself, ‘All I want is a normal life’. But was that true? I wasn’t so sure. Because there was a part of me that enjoyed hating school, and the drama of not going, the potential consequences whatever they were. I was intrigued by the unknown. I was even slightly thrilled that my mother was such a mess. Had I become addicted to crisis? I traced my finger along the windowsill. ‘Want something normal, want something normal, want something normal’, I told myself.”

-Augusten Burroughs, Running With Scissors

One response to “What’s Normal?

  1. I loved the movie, I didn’t read the book. I don’t think there is such a thing as “normal” because what might work me might not work for you. Normal is to me is what makes you happy and comfortable to you. What other people think is their business.

Leave a Reply

