childhood (is short)


H O N E Y C H I L D, by Shana Rae {Florabella Collection}, Flickr

When I was a child, I was certain, so certain that although I was growing older, I would never age beyond childhood. That there would be a reset button somewhere (though my thoughts weren’t this sophisticated at the time), but the idea was the same: I would cycle through childhood forever, my parents would take care of me forever. And now I’m older and wiser and I still hope so sometimes. That growing up is a bad dream that I will one day wake from.

-By Miriam Ling.

3 responses to “childhood (is short)

  1. My daughter must have had the same bad dream because her biggest fear was growing older. She got her wish, she died at the age of 34 on June 10, 2009. This year she would have been 36.

    I thought I would always have a daughter to care for, forever. I want a reset button.

  2. My son,Keil, always told us when he was little, that he was never going to leave home because he wanted to live with us forever. Guess what! Last year, at age 30, the company he worked for went bankrupt. He is living with us. Fortunately, he is the same sweet, loving, helpful boy he always was. He’s a pleasure to have here.

Leave a Reply

